A gluten-free diet helps to relieve the symptoms of Celiac disease, improves digestion and can contribute to weight loss. With Celiac disease, food digestion problems cause an allergic reaction in the small intestine to gluten. A gluten-free diet offers many healthy food choices including fruits and vegetables. Because fruits and vegetables are gluten-free, you can combine the gluten-free diet with a raw food diet.
On a gluten-free diet, some of the ingredients to avoid include anything containing wheat, barley, flour, malt, cereal binder, farina, matzo, semolina and rye unless those products are labeled gluten-free. Common foods that contain gluten include breads, candies, cakes, pies, cereals, cookies, crackers, gravies, imitation seafood, oats, pastas, luncheon meats, salad dressings, soy sauce and soups. Beers also contain gluten.
If you are following the gluten-free diet because you have Celiac disease, be aware that gluten can show up in places you do not expect. Some lipsticks and lip balms contain gluten. Also, gluten can be an ingredient in medications, vitamins, toothpaste and even play dough. Also be aware of cross contamination, do not use the same utensils to handle something that contains gluten and something that is gluten free. The most important thing you can do is familiarize yourself with foods that contain gluten and make sure you read the labels of everything that you eat or use on your skin.
The good news is that after eliminating the gluten-free diet forbidden foods, there are still foods left to eat. Some of the allowed foods include rice, amaranth, tapioca, buckwheat, arrowroot, corn, polenta, flax, legumes, nuts, quinoa, grits and gluten-free flours, meats, fish, fruits, dairy, potatoes, rice, wild rice, vegetables. Also, beer is not included in the gluten-free diet, but wine, distilled liquors, cider and spirits are included. These food choices are more than just diet food; these foods can be a part of a healthy diet.